All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy…..

Recently I have been working on a new video game with Brian Colon under our Tent Maker Games name.  The new game will hopefully be called Transcendent, which has nothing to do with the movie Transcendence starring Johnny Depp.  I am working on the art for this game and haven’t finished nearly enough of it yet.  Working full time at a sign shop as a graphic designer and working on this art for Transcendent is really kicking my butt.  I love working on video games and I went to school to be a graphic designer, with no real intention of working as a graphic designer.  I went to school to get my beautiful piece of paper claiming that I know what I am doing, but that doesn’t seem to be enough anymore.  Every time I look for a job it requires 3-5 years of experience and a degree.  Well I have the degree and now I have to work 2-4 more years in my current position in order to get a better paying job?  That is not how this is going to go down.  I know we have to pay our dues, but I have worked my way up in different jobs from the lowest position to management, and still that holds no water when it comes to anything.  I feel like this is all a sham and the college system is just sucking our money away from us for no reason.  After learning how to use Adobe Illustrator and about layout and design, I appreciate my education.  There is no way I would have been motivated enough to learn everything on my own.  Now that I am having a hard time finding a job, Brian and I have decided to go to Kickstarter and Indie Go Go for funding.  We are hopeful that we will get enough funding for me to work on the game full time and get it out by next year.  The game has a great demo that will be released to the public soon.  Brian has been working on levels like crazy and some of them are really extraordinary.  I hope that anyone reading this will begin to follow the progress that we will be unveiling shortly through videos and crowd funding.  Also I LOVE MAKING GAMES!!!

Leave a Reply

